Thomas Berry Film- The Great Story

    I think about the film, and the thing that stands out in my mind is how sad I would feel if I were to look up into the night sky and never be able to see the stars again because of the haze of pollution covering our planet. “Not to see the stars is a soul loss.” We humans like to forget that we are a part of the natural world too. God may have given us dominion over the animals and the plants, but I feel that that he did so thinking that we would respect, protect, and honor his creation. Not exploit them and earths other natural resources in an irresponsible manor, only treating them as a means to our extractive economy’s end. “The universe is a communion of subjects. Not a collection of objects.”

     As a designer, what really tugged at my heartstrings was when Berry spoke of how the death of the Cenozoic period is coming about with the continuation of our current environmental practices. The Cenozoic period (about 65 million years) can be described as the era of creativity, birth, death, creation, and growth of the earth that we humans have so lavishly thrived in. As a Christian designer I have always felt blessed that God would share with me one of his greatest “talents”- the ability to creatively shape our own environment. The death of creativity… a very morbid phrase indeed for artists and designers alike to have to be faced with. One of my most favorite designers once said, “all inspiration come from the outside”. Now what is a designer or an artist to do for a living if we have no inspiration to drive our work?

About kmharri5

I am a highly motivated young designer. I am a graduate of the school of Interior Architecture at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I love a challenge. I aspire to make a difference, and I have the passion and the drive it takes to do so.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thomas Berry Film- The Great Story

  1. Kelsey Lucis says:

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing site!

    • kmharri5 says:

      Thank you so much. I’m so glad you appreciate my work. I would definitely encourage you to follow my page so my blog may continue to enrich your lunch breaks with future posts. As a young writer I am always looking for new insight from my readers. Please tell all your friends about my page too. The more feedback I can get the better. Best wishes from North Carolina!

Leave a Reply

